Know Before You Go - Plan Your Trip

There is so much to see and do on the Isle of Wight we have highlighted a few ideas to get you started - these are not recommendations but suggestions:

A great source of inspiration for other ideas and offers is https://www.isleofwightguru.co.uk

for official guidance on travelling at this time ( October 2020)

https://www.visitisleofwight.co.uk

Places to visit on the Isle of Wight - Know Before You Go

Know Before You Go - 2020 - Most attractions now have pre- booking systems so we suggest you research and plan your days out before you arrive.

The Needles Old Battery - National Trust
Newtown Old Town Hall - National Trust
Mottistone Manor Gardens - National Trust

Bembridge Windmill - National Trust
Osborne House - English Heritage
Carisbrooke Castle - English Heritage
Yarmouth Castle - English Heritage
Appuldurcombe House - English Heritage
Shanklin Chine - 01983 866432 - www.shanklinchine.co.uk
Brading Roman Villa - 01983 406223 - www.bradingromanvilla.org.uk
Isle of Wight Steam Railway - 01983 882204 - www.iwsteamrailway.co.uk

Beaches

There are several award winning beaches on the Isle of Wight all of which are managed and maintained to the highest standard. Our local, award winning  beaches are Freshwater Bay, Totland Bay, Colwell Bay and Compton Bay, all of which meet the high standards of the Bathing Water Directive.To find out more visit - www.isleofwight.com

Family fun

Tapnell Farm Park - Yarmouth new for 2020 Water Park - lots to see and do for all the family.  www.tapnellpark.com or call 01983 758722

Blackgang Chine Fun Park - Ventnor 01983 730 330 - www.blackgangchine.com
Robin Hill Adventure Park & Gardens - Nr Newport - 01983 527 352 - www.robin-hill.com
Amazon World Zoo Park  Nr Sandown - 01983 867122 - www.amazonworld.co.uk
Isle of Wight Zoo Sandown - www.isleofwightzoo.com
Dinosaur Isle Sandown - 01983 404 344 - www.dinosaurisle.com

Shopping

2020 - We advise that you plan your food shopping in advance of your stay so that you can relax and enjoy your visit.  This is an opportunity to try some of our highly acclaimed Isle of Wight products.  A great site to visit for inspiration is:

https://www.isleofwight.co.uk/eating-out/local-producers-and-farm-shops/

or Taste of The Wight

https://www.tasteofthewight.co.uk/local-produce/

Please note our local supermarkets do deliver but getting a delivery slot to suit your arrival will need advance booking you may want to support some of our local suppliers instead:

Medina food services https://www.medinafoodservice.co.uk

Brownriggs Farm Shop https://www.brownriggfarmmeats.co.uk/shop/

Briddlesford Farm Shop & Cafe - if you don't want to cook they can supply home cooked ready meals

http://www.briddlesford.co.uk

Farmer Jacks - great for local produce with in house butcher and local produce

https://farmerjacks.co.uk

If you head over to Cowes you can try Isle of Wight Ice Cream at Bliss - 

Bliss Ice Cream Parlour – Cowes - https://www.blissicecreamparlour.com

Activities

Horse Riding - Island Riding Centre - Newport www.islandriding.com - 01983 21400  - catering from pony rides to beach rides for the more advanced rider.

Cycling - Wight Cycle Hire - Yarmouth - will deliver bikes to Farringford - contact them directly : 01983 761800 www.wightcyclehire.co.uk

Golf - Freshwater Bay Golf Club - Freshwater - 18 hole golf course with spectacular views  www.freshwaterbaygolfclub.co.uk - 01983 752955

Adventure  & Water Activites  including kayaking around Freshwater Bay - 01983 755838 www.adventureactivities.com

Wight Surf History - www.wightsurfhistory.co.ukSurfing lessons - iSurf - 07968 609169 - www.iowsurf.com
Wight Waters Watersports - 01983 866 269 - www.wightwaters.com
First Contact Boat Charters - 01983 741 484 - www.boat-charters.uk.com

Local Eateries:

The Piano Cafe & Mezze Bar - Freshwater Bay within walking distance of Farringford - 01983 472874

The Rabbit Hole - Our tiny tearoom is easy to spot. Just look out for the turquoise opposite School Green park and its magnificent run of Horse Chestnut trees along the brook as you drive through Freshwater Village PO40 9AS

The Freshwater Coffee House -  5 School Green Rd, Freshwater - 01983 754095 - as well as superb coffee they will make up packed lunches for your day out ( contact directly)

The Hut - Collwell Bay - Freshwater - Fine Dining by the Sea  - 01983 898637 www.thehutcolwell.co.uk - they will even make you up a delux hamper to enjoy on a picnic.

Travel

Please note that current Government advice is that you will need to wear face masks on all public transport (July 2020)

National Rail - 08457 484950 - www.nationalrail.co.uk
South West Trains - www.southwesttrains.co.uk
National Express Coaches - 08705 01 01 04 - www.nationalexpress.com
Red Funnel Ferries - 0844 844 9988 - www.redfunnel.co.uk
Wightlink Ferries - 0870 582 7744 - www.wightlink.co.uk
Hovertravel - 01983 811000 - www.hovertravel.co.uk
Island Line Trains - 0845 7484950 - www.islandlinetrains.co.uk
Southern Vectis Buses - 0870 608 2608 - www.islandbuses.info
Isle of Wight Tourism - 01983 813813 - www.islandbreaks.co.uk

NEW 2020 - The Isle of Wight TukTuk Co - 01983 329241 www.theiowtuktuk.co.uk can take you on an individual tour of the Island by Tuk Tuk

To plan your route by car visit:
The AA - www.theaa.com
The RAC - www.rac.co.uk
Green Flag - www.greenflag.co.uk

>
© 2020 Farringford